Manchester Ice Cloud Chamber

In June 2010, I visited the laboratory of Dr Clive Saunders who works the University of Manchester in the Earth, Atmosphere and Environmental sciences department. His research focuses on the role of ice crystals in various atmospheric causes of lightening in the atmosphere. He can recreate conditions inside clouds in a large, highly complex piece of equipment called the Manchester Ice Cloud Chamber (M.I.C.C.) which is installed in the lab. The ice cloud chamber is a vertical 1m diameter stainless steel tube which spans four floors. Three of the floors have freezer rooms through which the chamber passes. This enables experiments to be monitored at different heights of the chamber. During my visit, Dr Saunders told me about his research, about cloud formation and told me about some experiments I could do myself.


Leave a Reply

