Trees Trees Trees

Since May, I have been in charge of installing a piece by Olafur Eliasson called The Forked Forest Path (1998) at the Whitworth Art Gallery in Manchester. It consists of a dense assemblage of saplings wedged between the floor and ceiling with a path running through the middle which splits into two. I had to get hold of 2500 trees and together with a plucky team of volunteers, technicians and park rangers bring them to the gallery, strip them of all their leaves and install them. We had to battle the eccentric weather that Manchester is famous for -boiling hot sunny days, freezing cold wind and terrential rain. It took up a lot of my time so I am pleased I can get some time to concentrate on my own practice.

Leave a Reply

